The Impact of Climate Change on Human Mobility in Honduras

Secours Catholique Caritas France worked with a number of organizations including Equipo de Reflexión, Investigación y Comunicación -ERIC- on the report Free to Leave and Free to Stay, which discusses the impact of climate change in Honduras, among a number of cases discussed. The report was launched at the end of 2023. Caritas France and ERIC are two allied organizations with whom we work in global advocacy spaces, including the Climate Migration and Displacement Platform – CMDP -. 

 

As part of CMDP’s efforts to continue working in Latin America, Alianza Americas proposed to Caritas France and ERIC to co-sponsor a webinar to continue discussing the elements presented in the report, including the relationship between environmental degradation and forced displacement and migration. We want to examine the concept of socio-environmental disasters and identify the importance of prevention, human rights at the time of the disaster and in the immediate displacement, and the impact on forced migration. We want to explore what Honduras can do and what needs to be done, as well as the role of the international community, including advocacy opportunities. 

 

When: May 15, 2024 

Time: 8:00 a.m. PT, 10 a.m. CT, 11:00 a.m. ET | 9:00 a.m. Centroamérica, 5:00 pm Europa Central.

Spread the love