Caring is Defending: A Conversation with Women Land Defenders

As part of International Women’s Month, Alianza Americas will elevate the experiences of women in Mexico, Guatemala and Honduras who are defending their territories amidst the ongoing climate crisis. Women are most affected by extreme weather events and are also on the frontlines of preserving natural resources that benefit entire communities. Indigenous women particularly are at the forefront as agents of change, and their resilience is fundamental in the well-being and future of their communities. The panelists will also discuss how they take care of themselves to maintain this resiliency.

 

Join us to hear the perspectives of María Caal, a Q’eqchi environmental defender in Guatemala, María Felícita López, a Lenca indigenous woman in Honduras, and Amaydaly Martínez, a Chontal defender in Mexico. This conversation is co-organized with the Heinrich Böll Foundation, San Salvador Office, Regional Office for Central America.

 

When: March 13, 2024 

Time: 3:00 p.m. PT, 5:00 p.m. CT, 6:00 p.m. ET. | 4:00 p.m. 

 

The conversation will be in Spanish with English interpretation.

Spread the love
Tags :